Last night’s telecast of the 93rd Academy Awards was an interesting one in many ways, from the lack of a host to the relaxed speeches that weren’t cut off, to the relatively diverse set of winners. There wasn’t any one big winner, with a number of films (The Father, Judas and the Black Messiah, Minari, Nomadland, Sound of Metal, and Promising Young Woman) all getting some much due recognition. If you missed the show or are just looking for a quick recap of who won what, just scroll down below to you favorite category. Winners are in bold.

The Oscars 2021 Winners Are…

Best Picture

The Father – David Parfitt, Jean-Louis Livi and Philippe Carcassonne, producers

Judas and the Black Messiah – Shaka King, Charles D. King and Ryan Coogler, producers

Mank – Ceán Chaffin, Eric Roth and Douglas Urbanski, producers

Minari – Christina Oh, producer

Nomadland – Frances McDormand, Peter Spears, Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey and Chloé Zhao, producers

Promising Young Woman – Ben Browning, Ashley Fox, Emerald Fennell and Josey McNamara, producers

Sound of Metal – Bert Hamelinck and Sacha Ben Harroche, producers

The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Marc Platt and Stuart Besser, producers

Best Director

Thomas Vinterberg – Another Round

David Fincher – Mank

Lee Isaac Chung – Minari

Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal

Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Anthony Hopkins – The Father

Gary Oldman – Mank 

Steven Yeun – Minari 

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom 

Andra Day – The United States v. Billie Holiday 

Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman 

Frances McDormand – Nomadland 

Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman 

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7 

Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah 

Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night in Miami 

Paul Raci – Sound of Metal 

Lakeith Stanfield – Judas and the Black Messiah

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm 

Glenn Close – Hillbilly Elegy 

Olivia Colman – The Father 

Amanda Seyfried – Mank 

Yuh-jung Youn – Minari 

Best Animated Feature Film

Onward – Pixar

Over the Moon – Netflix

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon – Netflix

Soul – Pixar 

Wolfwalkers – Apple TV Plus/GKIDS

Best Adapted Screenplay

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm – Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman, Lee Kern; Story by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Nina Pedrad

The Father – Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller

Nomadland – Chloé Zhao 

One Night in Miami – Kemp Powers 

The White Tiger – Ramin Bahrani 

Best Original Screenplay

Judas and the Black Messiah – Screenplay by Will Berson, Shaka King; Story by Will Berson, Shaka King, Kenny Lucas, Keith Lucas

Minari – Lee Isaac Chung 

Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell 

Sound of Metal – Screenplay by Darius Marder, Abraham Marder; Story by Darius Marder, Derek Cianfrance

The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Aaron Sorkin 

Best Original Song

“Fight for You” (Judas and the Black Messiah) – Music by H.E.R. and Dernst Emile II; Lyric by H.E.R. and Tiara Thomas

“Hear My Voice” (The Trial of the Chicago 7) – Music by Daniel Pemberton; Lyric by Daniel Pemberton and Celeste Waite

“Húsavík” (Eurovision Song Contest) – Music and Lyric by Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus and Rickard Göransson

“Io Si (Seen)” (The Life Ahead) – Music by Diane Warren; Lyric by Diane Warren and Laura Pausini

“Speak Now,” (One Night in Miami) – Music and Lyric by Leslie Odom, Jr. and Sam Ashworth

Best Original Score

Da 5 Bloods – Terence Blanchard 

Mank – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross 

Minari – Emile Mosseri 

News of the World – James Newton Howard 

Soul – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste 

Best Sound

Greyhound – Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman

Mank – Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin

News of the World – Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett

Soul – Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker

Sound of Metal – Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh

Best Costume Design

Emma – Alexandra Byrne 

Mank – Trish Summerville 

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth 

Mulan – Bina Daigeler 

Pinocchio – Massimo Cantini Parrini

Best Animated Short Film

“Burrow” – Disney Plus/Pixar

“Genius Loci” – Kazak Productions

“If Anything Happens I Love You” – Netflix

“Opera” – Beasts and Natives Alike

“Yes-People” – CAOZ hf. Hólamói

Best Live-Action Short Film

“Feeling Through” 

“The Letter Room” 

“The Present” 

“Two Distant Strangers” 

“White Eye” 

Best Cinematography

Judas and the Black Messiah – Sean Bobbitt 

Mank – Erik Messerschmidt 

News of the World – Dariusz Wolski 

Nomadland – Joshua James Richards 

The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Phedon Papamichael 

Best Documentary Feature

Collective – Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana

Crip Camp – Nicole Newnham, Jim LeBrecht and Sara Bolder

The Mole Agent – Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez

My Octopus Teacher – Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster

Time – Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn

Best Documentary Short Subject

“Colette” – Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard

“A Concerto Is a Conversation” – Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers

“Do Not Split” – Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook

“Hunger Ward” – Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman

“A Love Song for Latasha” – Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan

Best Film Editing

The Father – Yorgos Lamprinos

Nomadland – Chloé Zhao 

Promising Young Woman – Frédéric Thoraval 

Sound of Metal – Mikkel E.G. Nielsen 

The Trial of the Chicago 7 – Alan Baumgarten 

Best International Feature Film

Another Round – Denmark 

Better Days – Hong Kong

Collective – Romania 

The Man Who Sold His Skin – Tunisia

Quo Vadis, Aida? – Bosnia and Herzegovina

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Emma – Marese Langan, Laura Allen, Claudia Stolze

Hillbilly Elegy – Eryn Krueger Mekash, Patricia Dehaney, Matthew Mungle 

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal, Jamika Wilson

Mank – Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi Williams, Colleen LaBaff

Pinocchio – Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli, Francesco Pegoretti

Best Production Design

The Father – Production Design: Peter Francis; Set Decoration: Cathy FeatherstoneAD

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Production Design: Mark Ricker; Set Decoration: Karen O’Hara and Diana Stoughton

Mank – Production Design: Donald Graham Burt; Set Decoration: Jan Pascale

News of the World – Production Design: David Crank; Set Decoration: Elizabeth Keenan

Tenet – Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Kathy Lucas

Best Visual Effects

Love and Monsters – Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox 

The Midnight Sky – Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins

Mulan – Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram

The One and Only Ivan – Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez

Tenet – Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher

  • News
  • Oscars